HOW TO…Make Your Own Bridal Bouquet

One of my mom’s dear friends is getting married next weekend in a small ceremony at one of my favorite venues in the Bay Area, Kohl Mansion, in Burlingame, CA.  It also happens to be the school where the bride, the groom, and my mom have all worked.  My mom, knowing that they were two of the sweetest people she had ever met, decided that they would do well as a couple and set them up.  Boy was she was right!  They were a perfect match and make a beautiful couple.  They are keeping the festivities low key, and are putting together the wedding party’s flowers themselves.  I shared with the bride a couple of sites I always reference when putting bouquets together…a skill a I am still trying to hone.

If you don’t yet have an idea of what flowers you would like to use, or even what style of bouquet you would like, pop on over to Burnett’s Boards for a beautifully illustrated guide to several classic styles of bouquets.  Since I stumbled across this post I’ve been obsessed with Sarah Park Designs, and can’t wait to order some of her designs for my inspiration and color in my work space.

bouquetpaintingbouquetpainting2

Aren’t they gorgeous?  And they look exactly like very current, on trend bridal bouquets.  Have a look at this tremendously helpful guide here.

Once you know what style you like or what flowers are available to use, I suggest A Practical Wedding‘s helpful “How-To’s “.  They have compiled easy- no, seriously, easy- step by step instructions to put together oversized wedding bouquets, simple wedding bouquetsfloral crowns for you, your bridesmaids, or flower girls, centerpieces, and tablescapes.  They have dozens of other how-to guides to help you put together the wedding of your dreams without hiring big ticket vendors.

brideandbouquet

The Knot also has a quick tutorial on how to create a simple boutonniere.

boutonnieres

I am a firm believer that the simplest bouquets can be the most beautiful.  I suggest grabbing some inexpensive flowers from the grocery store and practicing in the weeks leading up to wedding- no need to break a sweat stressing over floral wire the morning of your big day!

Don’t forget to stop and smell those roses!!!  Thanks for reading!

***CIAO CHERI***

Leave a Reply

